Completed on:

06/14/2016

Review Rating:

5 stars! 

Reviewed By Jessyca Garcia for Readers’ Favorite

My daughter and I absolutely loved The Devious Mr. Mischievious by Scott Schafer. Mr. Mischievious is known as the town oddball who never leaves his house. One day he decides to venture outside. That is when he decides to paint the town all different colors and change the way people see things. I chose to read The Devious Mr. Mischievious with my 4-year-old daughter. Not only did she enjoy it immensely, but so did I. Schafer has done a great job at writing a story that is hilarious and unpredictable. You never know what Mr. Mischievious will do when you turn the page. The story is written in rhyme and flows very nicely. The wording in the story is not too difficult and my daughter was able to read most of it by herself. 

The illustrations are colorful and interesting enough that my daughter would spend a long time staring at each page. I also liked looking at the illustrations and seeing all the different things Mr. Mischievious did. My daughter’s favorite parts of the story were when Mr. Mischievious painted the cats and when his dog had a mustache painted on him. I thought the end of the book was pretty funny when Mr. Mischievious opened his coat. I was happy that Schafer made Mr. Mischievious clean up his messes. This is a message I need to my child to learn! Overall, this book was awesome-ous! Because my daughter liked it so much, I plan on keeping this story in my collection and reading it often at bedtime. I hope to read more of Schafer’s work in the future.

Completed on:

06/05/2016

Review Rating:

4 stars.

Reviewed By Joel R. Dennstedt for Readers’ Favorite

There is nothing easy about writing a really good children’s book. The rules are fairly simple: be concise, be unique, be imaginative. The implementation is extremely difficult, however, and the ultimate goal is agonizingly elusive: captivate the child. As a bonus, make the eager young reader laugh at least once. Perhaps most important of all, make the words and the artwork play together in a piece with perfect harmony. In his children’s book The Devious Mr. Mischievious, Scott Schafer has created a marvelously unique and artful story designed to engage and enthrall his young fans, and he does offer up that most evasive of elusive products: a good children’s book. 

In The Devious Mr. Mischievious, Scott Schafer’s artwork is noticeably superior to his rhymes, which are amusing and entertaining, if sometimes a little forced beyond a perfectly rhythmic meter. While enjoying these simple poetic waves, however, a child will become more absorbed by the wonderful details of Mr. Schafer’s intriguing pictures. These simple pictures truly are marvelous depictions showing the life of a very odd and eccentric man. There is much here to make the child smile, and even laugh at the craziness going on, especially as the deeds of Mr. Mischievious the artist literally spill over onto the minor characters – one of which, by the way, has pupils in its eyes. You will have to see why that is most unusual. The plot winds down with a final joke meant more to worry presupposing parents than to titillate their less worldly-minded kids, who will probably miss it altogether. And a tiny, tiny spoiler: the dog kind of steals the show.

Completed on:

06/05/2016

Review Rating:

5 stars! 

Reviewed By Jack Magnus for Readers’ Favorite

The Devious Mr. Mischievious is a children's picture book written and illustrated by Scott Schafer. No one in town really knew very much about Mr. Mischievious. He lived by himself with his little dog, and basically minded his own business. One day, however, he decided that he needed a change. He was tired of doing his odd little things just in his house and keeping himself to himself. He was going to go out into the world, well, into the neighborhood actually, and start doing things outside. He got really busy, painting mailboxes, grass, flowers, and just about anything one could imagine. He started pruning bushes and trees, and putting patterns into things. Suddenly, the neighborhood was awash in colors and shapes such as no one had ever seen before. And when his neighbors did come home, they weren't at all pleased with what they were seeing. They couldn't believe their eyes! They were going to make the reclusive Mr. Mischievious sorry he'd ever decided to do what he did.

Scott Schafer's children's picture book, The Devious Mr. Mischievious, is disarming, clever, and very very funny. Adults who are all too often bored with their selection of reading material for story time will probably find themselves suggesting this book whenever it's their turn to tell a story. Mr. Mischievious is filled with zany and silly ideas on how to decorate the neighborhood, and I couldn’t wait to see what he came up with next -- even if I did cringe a bit when he dumped that paint into the swimming pool. Schafer's verse has a rhythm reminiscent of rhyming limericks, complete with the same quirky flavor, but none of the off-color humor. Instead, he imbues the classic verse form with brightly colorful humor as he celebrates the imagination and the magic of play. The Devious Mr. Mischievious offers readers an entirely new way of looking at the everyday world, and it's a grand place to visit. It's also a marvelous introduction to art and the imagination for children, and is an excellent primer for new readers. This inspirational and enjoyable picture book is most highly recommended.

"Judge, 23rd Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards."

Books are evaluated on a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 meaning "needs improvement" and 5 meaning "outstanding".

Structure, Organization, and Pacing: 5 
Spelling, Punctuation, and Grammar: 5 
Production Quality and Cover Design: 5 

Plot and Story Appeal: 5 

Character Appeal and Development: 5 

Voice and Writing Style: 5

Judge's Commentary*:


FURRY WEATHER AND A STORM OF FEATHERS by Scott Schafer is a cute story about friendship that children can benefit from--and so can the adults in their lives!
 The production values on this book are lovely. I like that it's a hardback. The characters are giving each other doubtful looks, which makes the potential reader wonder what's going on. Very cute. The colors are nice. On the back they look a little mad at each other. I would have liked to see an author bio and picture on the back, or at least on the inside.
 The back cover copy is charming enough to convince an adult to buy the book for a child. It shows that there is a lesson to be imparted in an interesting way.
 I like the balance of text versus illustrations in the book. There is a lot to look at on each page. There is a lot of interest. The child can read the book for him or herself, or an adult can read to the child and both can enjoy the illustrations. I like the colors the artist uses. I also like the lesson. It's always nice when two enemies become friends. I hope readers will find this to be true in real life, too! It's good to see a book that shows such potential. Perhaps readers will be inspired to make this happen. Nice lesson. Excellent work.

5.0 out of 5 stars  Great book!

By Natasha Hensley on July 19, 2016 Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase

I am always looking for new books to read to my toddlers that are fun for me to read, too. My kids are 2 and 3, and love the bright pictures of Mr. Mischievious painting the town! The book flows in a way that is easy for me to read, and have a rhythm going. It helps with the kids learning more about rhyming and the flow of language. Mr. Mischievous is an adorable character for them to follow through his misadventures with his town, and teaches them about doing what you love, and sharing it with others.

5.0 out of 5 stars  Reminds Me of Dr. Seuss

By Wicked Good Reads on April 8, 2016 Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

The start of this book left me wondering where it was going to end up. It is a fun story, and full of rhymes, and actually reminds me of a Dr. Seuss book. Mr. Mischievious is a very busy man, who is creative and running out of space! I can't wait to read this with my granddaughter. Very fun story line, and a lot of creativity for young minds.

5.0 out of 5 stars  Rhymes and colors!!

By J Hunter on July 29, 2016 Format: Kindle Edition

This book is wonderful for children. I enjoyed it with my four-year-old. The rhymes are clever and funny. Mr. Mischievous, is an artist who thinks outside the box and wants to share his creativity with the world. He goes out and created art in everything he does, but like most artists, not everyone understands his art and that’s why he gets in trouble. Doing what you love is not always the popular thing to do, but you should do it anyways!!

4.0 out of 5 stars  Cute book!

By Ann Antognoli on July 23, 2016 Format: Hardcover

I had the pleasure of reading this kiddie-lit book at a book fair this weekend. Pre-schoolers will enjoy the playful pronunciation of words that rhyme with "mischievous" The bold colored illustrations will delight and hold a child's attention. The book may serve as an affordable birthday gift for the little ones.

5.0 out of 5 stars  Love it!

By abrawley on April 18, 2016 Format: Kindle Edition

This is such a fun book! It would be great for any child that is learning to read or loves someone reading to them. The book is exciting and your not quite sure what Mr. Mischievious is going to do next. This book is very enjoyable, funny, and lighthearted. My children love it and have read it over and over. You will NOT regret this book!

Amazon Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars  Fun for everyone

By Jon Kohan on October 14, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

It's not just a fun read but the illustrations and just as good. There might be a fun joke or two for the adults in the story as well.

5.0 out of 5 stars  I like to support local artists

By Bonnie Robinson on July 24, 2016

Format: Hardcover

I was able to meet Scott Schafer at a local Art Fair. I like to support local artists, and to find out Scott was from a nearby town I had to buy the book. My grandson loves this book. I read to him all the time.

5.0 out of 5 stars  WOW! What a great story this was of how not to fight argue and squabble . ..

By Angela on October 2, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I this to be a very good story with a grand moral in it, and how to figure a way to work together for the common good. Therefore with this in mind and the wonderful illustrations I would like to recommend this for five stars and for those 5-9 . I received this for free and in return, here is my honest review Super Job Scitt! By Angela

5.0 out of 5 stars  and I love supporting local artists from the community

By Bonnie Robinson on July 24, 2016

Format: Paperback

I met the Scott at a local art show, and I love supporting local artists from the community. I cant wait till he publishes his next book

5.0 out of 5 stars  Great Moral Message

By Cheryl EA on August 21, 2015

Format: Paperback

This book is a gift for my newest grandson who will enter this world in November. I had to take a peek and am very happy with my choice. Furry Weather and a Storm of Feathers is a wonderful venue for teaching children from a young age that although we may not get along with, or like, someone at first, in the end, if we work together it benefits us all. Great message for children. Good Job Scott!

5.0 out of 5 stars  Catchy wording and phrases

By Debra Westover on July 28, 2015

Format: Paperback

Great fun! Pictures are stand outish. Grand Daughters really liked it. Catchy wording and phrases. Thank you Scott

5.0 out of 5 stars  A fun, quirky read

By Nikki Tiani-Moroney on June 14, 2015

Format: Paperback

Clear, concise wording, and delightful illustrations make this recent children's release a top pick for this season's reading lists.

I bought the book for my seven year old, and three year old sons, and both were entertained. We're glad to add this selection to our abundant library.

Not a bad start to what seems to be a burgeoning writing career. Well done, Mr. Schafer.

5.0 out of 5 stars  HOLDS A TODDLERS INTEREST

By Darren Hood on May 29, 2015

Format: Hardcover

Very well written using rhymes and simple catchy phrases to teach a valuable lesson of compromise to children. Great simple and bright illustrations held the interest of our toddler which always makes bedtime stories more fun. Enjoyed this unique story so much we purchased additional copies to give as gifts for several family members. Looking forward to another children's book written by Scott hopefully in the near future.

5.0 out of 5 stars  A timeless message of compromise coupled with whimsical illustrations, ...

By Cris Kostiuk on May 21, 2015

Format: Paperback

A timeless message of compromise coupled with whimsical illustrations, Scott Shaffer's FURRY WEATHER AND A STORM OF FEATHERS, is filled with rhyming words and interesting dialogue that entertains and educates. Parents will appreciate the usage of higher-level vocabulary that will offer teaching moments to younger readers.

5.0 out of 5 stars  Illustrated rhyming book to captivate young minds...

By KD Forsman on May 2, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Scott Schafer makes a clever use of rhyme which will captivate and enthrall his audience when they read Furry Weather and a Storm of Feathers. What a wonderful story book, for parents looking for a great bedtime story for their children. Cleverly illustrated throughout this delightful book is made complete with a nice moral at the end. A memorable read to enjoy with the family.

Amazon Reviews

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Black Round